
CUMBERLAND COUNTY 
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF THE REVENUE 

P.O. Box 77 ~ Cumberland, Virginia 23040 
   (804) 492-4280 ~ Fax: (804) 492-3342 

www.cumberlandcounty.virginia.gov 

JULIE A. PHILLIPS 
Master Commissioner 

2016 Business License Renewal Application 
*Must be returned to the Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office by March 1* 

License Period:  January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

 Part 1: Please update all fields below 

FEIN or SSN:  Jurisdiction:   

Applicant Name:   Trading as Name:   

Mailing Address:   Business Address:   

City, State, Zip:     City, State, Zip: 

Alternate Phone #: Business Phone #: 

Email Address: 

 Part 1a: CONTRACTORS ONLY  
State Board Contractors or Tradesman License Number:   
 

Current Class:                                   
A          B          C           N/A 

Expiration  
Date:  

In what other localities do you have a 
business license? (attach copies) 

  
 

CONTRACTORS NOT BASED IN CUMBERLAND COUNTY

∗ CLOSED BUSINESS: Provide the date business closed/moved ___________________________   Sign below and return. ∗ 

:  I certify that I am not required to purchase a business license for 2016 in 
Cumberland County because I do not expect to gross greater than $25,000 in Cumberland County during this Calendar year.  Please check 
here , provide a copy of your 2016 business license issued by your locality, sign below and return. 

 

Gross Receipts: $ _____________________________    Rate:_______ /100    License Fee: $ 
                                                       (taken from top line of Schedule C)                                (from back)                                                                       ($30.00 Minimum)  

   _________________ 

Gross Receipts: $ _____________________________    Rate:_______ /100    License Fee: $ 
                                           (*Note: Corporate filers should use line 1A of Form 1120)             (from back)                                                                        ($30.00 Minimum)  

   _________________ 

                                                                                                                                               Penalty: $ 

                                                                                                                                               Interest: $ 

   __________________ 

                                                                                                                                           Total Due: $ 

   __________________ 

   __________________

  

  

      
 

     
 Printed Name of Applicant or Authorized Agent Signature 

  
    

       Title of Applicant or Authorized Agent   Date 

   Please Return to the Following Address: 
Commissioner of the Revenue 
PO Box 77 
Cumberland, Virginia 23040 

Office Use Only Processed By: 

License Number:   
  Date Received: 

Make Checks Payable to: 
Treasurer, Cumberland County Payment Received:        Cash      Credit        Check #                          N/A       

 

Penalty after March 1 is 10% of tax or a $5.00 minimum, whichever is greater, plus 
interest at the rate of 10% per annum on the total of the tax plus penalty. 
 
Oath: I, the undersigned applicant, do swear (or affirm) that the foregoing figures and 
statements are true, full and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 



IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

 

 

1. Who must file: Any individual, partnership, corporation, LLC or others engaged in any business, profession or 
occupation in Cumberland County. There is no tax on businesses whose gross receipts are less than $10,000. However a 
license is required and gross receipts must be reported on ALL businesses for 2016. 
2. When to file:  a. New businesses are required to have a license when beginning a business (within 30 days). 
    b. Yearly applications are due on or before March 1 of each year. 

  c. All delinquent Business License fees must be paid before a current license can be issued. 
3. Where to file: Completed forms should be returned to the Commissioner of the Revenue, One Courthouse Circle, 
Cumberland, VA  23040. If you have questions regarding this application call 804-492-4280. 
4. Definition: This license is based on a statement of the gross receipts. The term “Gross Receipts” shall include the 
receipts from all sales or services rendered or activities conducted within the county, both to persons within the county 
and outside the county. 
5. Special note to contractors: All contractors doing business in Cumberland County are required to have a county license. 
Prior to issuance, a Workers Compensation form 61-A must be completed. Exception: If situs is in another county in the 
state of Virginia, and you are licensed by your county, you are not required to have a Cumberland license, unless gross 
receipts exceed $25,000. 

BUSINESS LICENSE TAX RATES 
TABLE A 

TAX RATES FOR BUSINESSES OF $10,000 (25,001 for Contractors) OR GREATER IN GROSS RECEIPTS 
Builder-Developer, Contractor, Subcontractors, Retail Merchants, Financial Services, Repair 
Services, Personal & Business Services, Wholesale Merchants, Hotels, Motels, Tourist Homes and 
Cabins, Boarding Houses, Lodging Houses and Trailer Parks $0.05/$100 
Professional and Real Estate Services $0.10/$100 
Merchant-Placed Vending Machines, Junk & Secondhand Dealers $0.10/$100 
Utility $0.50/$100 
Amusement Machines:                                                                                                               Less than 10 

 10 or more 
$25 each  

$200 
All Other Businesses $0.36/100 
Direct Sellers: Total annual sales in excess of $4,000, $0.20 per $100 of total annual retail sales or $0.05 per $100 total                 
annual wholesale sales, whichever is applicable 

 

TABLE B 
FLAT FEE LICENSES 

Carnivals, Circuses & Speedways:                                                                         One-day performance 
Two Consecutive day events 

After two consecutive days, the tax for each additional day will be 

$100 
$500 
$250 

Itinerant Merchants or Peddlers $25 per year 
Photographer $30 per year 
Savings Institutions or State-Chartered Credit Unions $50 per year 
Industrial Loan Associations or Agricultural Credit Associations $500 per year 
Dancehalls $600 per year 
Fortune Tellers, Clairvoyants & Practitioners  of Palmistry  $1,000 per year 
Permanent Coliseums, Arenas, or Auditoriums with Maximum Capacity in Excess of 10,000 
Persons, Open to the Public:  $1,000 per year 
Massage Parlors $5,000 per year 

         Internal Use Only: 
  Approved Zoning Permit                       Certificate of Assumed or Fictitious Name Form  
  Worker’s Comp Form Attached           State Contractor’s License or Affidavit of Contractor (circle one) 

 

LICENSE FEE AND TAX: (Cumberland County Code §18-40) Every person or business subject to licensure under this 
article, and whose annual gross receipts are more than $10,000, shall be required to pay annually a license fee of $30 
or a license tax based on the rate below, whichever is greater. 
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