
CUMBERLAND COUNTY 
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF THE REVENUE 

P.O. Box 77 ~ Cumberland, Virginia 23040 

   (804) 492-4280 ~ Fax: (804) 492-3342 

www.cumberlandcounty.virginia.gov 

JULIE A. PHILLIPS 

Commissioner 

2014 Business License Renewal Application 
*Must be returned to the Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office by March 1* 

License Period:  January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014 

 Part 1: Please update all fields below 

FEIN or SSN:  Trading as Name: 

Applicant Name:   Business Address: 

Mailing Address:   City, State, Zip: 

City, State, Zip:   Jurisdiction: 

Alternate Phone #: Business Phone #: 

Email Address: 

 Part 1a: CONTRACTORS ONLY  
State Board Contractors or Tradesman License Number:   
 

Current Class:                                   
A          B          C           N/A 

Expiration  
Date:  

In what other localities do you have a 
business license? (attach copies) 

  
 

CONTRACTORS NOT BASED IN CUMBERLAND COUNTY: I certify that I am not required to purchase a license for 2014 in Cumberland 
County because I have receive no gross receipts and I do not expect to receive gross receipts in Cumberland County during this calendar 
year. Please provide copy of license from other jurisdiction, sign below and return. 

 CLOSED BUSINESS: Provide the date business closed/moved ___________________________   Sign below and return.  

Gross Receipts: $ _____________________________    Rate:_______ /100    License Fee: $    _________________ 
                                                       (taken from top line of Schedule C)                                (from back)                                                                       ($30.00 Minimum)  

Gross Receipts: $ _____________________________    Rate:_______ /100    License Fee: $    _________________ 
                                                       (taken from top line of Schedule C)                                (from back)                                                                       ($30.00 Minimum)  
 
                                                                                                                                               Penalty: $    __________________ 

                                                                                                                                               Interest: $    __________________ 

                                                                                                                                           Total Due: $    __________________  

        
 

     
 Printed Name of Applicant or Authorized Agent Signature 

  
    

       Title of Applicant or Authorized Agent   Date 

   Please Return to the Following Address: 
Commissioner of the Revenue 
PO Box 77 
Cumberland, Virginia 23040 

Office Use Only Processed By: 

License Number: 
  
  Date Received: 

Make Checks Payable to: 
Treasurer, Cumberland County 

Payment Received:        Cash      Credit        Check # 

 

Penalty after March 1 is 10% of tax or a $5.00 minimum, whichever is greater, plus 
interest at the rate of 10% per annum on the total of the tax plus penalty. 

 

Oath: I, the undersigned applicant, do swear (or affirm) that the foregoing figures and 
statements are true, full and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 



IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

 

 

1. Who must  file:  Any  individual,  partnership,  corporation,  LLC  or  others  engaged  in  any  business,  profession  or 
occupation  in  Cumberland  County.  There  is  no  tax  on  businesses whose  gross  receipts  are  less  than  $10,000. 
However a license is required and gross receipts must be reported on ALL businesses for 2014. 

2. When to file:     a. New businesses  are  required  to have  a  license when beginning  a business  (within  30 
days).      b. Yearly applications are due on or before March 1 of each year. 
      c. All delinquent Business License fees must be paid before a license can be issued. 

3. Where to file: Completed forms should be returned to the Commissioner of the Revenue, One Courthouse Circle, 
Cumberland, VA  23040. If you have questions regarding this application call 804‐492‐4280. 

4. Definition: This  license  is based on a statement of the gross receipts. The term “Gross Receipts” shall  include the 
receipts  from all sales or services rendered or activities conducted within  the county, both to persons within  the 
county and outside the county. 

5. Special note  to contractors: All contractors doing business  in Cumberland County are  required  to have a county 
license. Prior to issuance, a Workers Compensation form 61‐A must be completed. Exception: If situs is in another 
county  in  the state of Virginia, and you are  licensed by your county, you are not required  to have a Cumberland 
license, unless gross receipts exceed $25,000. 

BUSINESS LICENSE TAX RATES 

TABLE A 
TAX RATES FOR BUSINESSES OF $10,000 (25,001 for Contractors) OR GREATER IN GROSS RECEIPTS 

Builder‐Developer, Contractor, Subcontractors, Retail Merchants, Financial Services, Repair 
Services, Personal & Business Services, Wholesale Merchants, Hotels, Motels, Tourist Homes 
and Cabins, Boarding Houses, Lodging Houses and Trailer Parks  $0.05/$100 

Professional and Real Estate Services  $0.10/$100 

Merchant‐Placed Vending Machines, Junk & Secondhand Dealers  $0.10/$100 

Utility  $0.50/$100 

Amusement Machines:                                                                                                             Less than 
10 

10 or more 
$25 each  
$200 

All Other Businesses  $0.36/100 

Direct Sellers: Total annual sales in excess of $4,000, $0.20 per $100 of total annual retail sales or $0.05 per $100 total 
annual wholesale sales, whichever is applicable 

 

TABLE B 
FLAT FEE LICENSES 

Carnivals, Circuses & Speedways:                                                                         One‐day performance 
Two Consecutive day events 

After two consecutive days, the tax for each for each additional day will be 

$100 
$500 
$250 

Itinerant Merchants or Peddlers  $25 per year 

Photographer  $30 per year 

Savings Institutions or State‐Chartered Credit Unions  $50 per year 

Industrial Loan Associations or Agricultural Credit Associations  $500 per year 

Dancehalls  $600 per year 

Fortune Tellers, Clairvoyants & Practitioners  of Palmistry   $1,000 per year 

Permanent Coliseums, Arenas, or Auditoriums with Maximum Capacity in Excess of 10,000 
Persons, Open to the Public:   $1,000 per year 

Massage Parlors  $5,000 per year 

         Internal Use Only: 

  Approved Zoning Permit                       Certificate of Assumed or Fictitious Name Form  

  Worker’s Comp Form Attached           State Contractor’s License or Affidavit of Contractor (circle one) 

LICENSE  FEE AND  TAX:  (Cumberland County Code  §18‐40)  Every person or business  subject  to  licensure under  this 
article, and whose annual gross receipts are more than $10,000, shall be required to pay annually a license fee of $30 
or a license tax based on the rate below, whichever is greater. 
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